jump to navigation

Lovely Bugs in the Food September 14, 2012

Posted by jeffrooney in Uncategorized.
trackback

This is just a short little post that features an article I just read from a recent NY Times: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/09/12/dining/buttermilk-often-maligned-begins-to-get-its-due.html?_r=1&pagewanted=all. It is a nice story about butter milk – what it is and where it comes from and the sort of revival it is getting in certain quarters these days. My dad used to gulp down butter milk and I always thought it was gross! He was from an early Irish immigration so maybe he knew something that I never learned to appreciate. There is great value to fermented foods and the cultures (the bugs or bacteria) they bring to our bodies. We need those guys for optimum digestion but you would not know that in our current culture where sterilization is king. So take a look at the article. I think savoring our food, learning what real food is, learning to appreciate the gifts of food our planet brings us, including the little bugs – is something that can bring joy to the table.

I am volunteering and attending a Fermentation Festival this weekend at Tara Firma Farms in Petaluma this Sunday Sept 16 so I am sure to learn much more will be happy to share in another post. The past few years I have been doing my own kefir, creme fraiche and lately I am trying fermentations with apple juice to make cider and vinegar. Yummm! Go to www.farmtofermentation.com for more details.

Have more fun with your food – that is my motto for today!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

